(9) Nine classes of Dangerous Goods 

[Ref IATA DG Class 10 Learning Kit]

  • Dangerous Goods (DGs) are divided into 9 classes;
  • Each classes of DGs might be further divided into various divisions;
  • There are different Cargo Interline Message Procedures Code (IMP code – three letter codes) and hazard labels to distinguish each class and division.

The IMP codes are used to identify the presence of dangerous goods on various flight documents, such as cargo manifests and Special Load – Notification to Captain (NOTOC).


Read More –

PAX aircraft v.s CGO aricraft

Certain substances and articles must be transported by Cargo Aircraft Only (CAO) while there are limitations of transporting DGs via cargo flights. For example, only explosives in Division 1.4, compatibility group S are permitted on a passenger aircraft while only explosives in Division 1.3, compatibility groups C and G and Division 1.4, compatibility groups B, C, D, E, G and S are permitted on a cargo aircraft.

#DG #DGs #classification

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *