What’s Dangerous Goods?

[Ref IATA DG Class 10 Learning Kit]

Dangerous goods are articles or substances which are capable of posing a hazard to health, safety, property or the environment.

Read More –

Who establishes the criteria and What’s the Legal Basis?

The United Nations (UN) Subcommittee of Experts on the Transport of Dangerous Goods establishes the criteria for classifying dangerous goods.

UN Subcommittee of Experts on the Transport of Dangerous Goods defines DGs;

Airlines follow IATA DGR which is more restrictive than ICAO technical instructions.

The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) Technical Instructions provide the legal basis under which dangerous goods can be transported safely by air at a level of safety.

Airlines use the IATA Dangerous Goods Regulations (DGR) as the everyday field document on transporting dangerous goods. The DGR complies fully with the ICAO Technical Instructions. Actually, IATA has included additional requirements which are more restrictive than the ICAO Technical Instructions, and reflect industry standard practices or operational considerations.


(9) Nine classes of Dangerous Goods 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *